Two New Franchises Will be Added in The IPL 2022

IPL 2022
Photo Credit: Twitter

The biggest cricketing extravaganza i.e. Indian Premier League will be held in India this time. The previous edition was held in UAE behind closed doors due to COVID-19. The 2021 edition of IPL may also be played without the fans in stadium. It will take place in India across 6 different cities. The cities include Mumbai, Delhi, Kolkata, Ahmedabad, Chennai and Bengaluru. IPL 2021 will begin on 9th April and the final will be played on 30th May in Narendra Modi Cricket Stadium in Ahmedabad.

As always, the 2021 edition will also feature 8 teams but as per reports the auction for the new teams in Indian Premier League will be auctioned in May. BCCI President Sourav Ganguly and the top brass of IPL met on 13th March regarding the decisions approved by IPL governing council. Among the many decisions made one of them was that two new IPL teams will be auctioned in May, during the final stages of IPL 2021.

Earlier it was rumoured that IPL 2021 would see addition of one team to existing eight and IPL 2022 will see addition of one more team thus making it 10 teams. However now it has been finalized that the two new teams will be added in 2022 edition. The last time IPL was played with 10 teams was in 2011 when Kochi Tuskers Kerala and Pune Warriors were added.

Your Comments

%d bloggers like this: