Proteas name Test squad for series against Pakistan

South African Team Photo PTI
South African Team Photo: PTI

South Africa is touring Pakistan for the first time after 14 years from 26th January to 14th February 2021. The Proteas will play 2 Tests and three T20I and for that they will travel to Pakistan on 16th January and will go to quarantine before the Test matches in National Stadium Karachi and Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium. After the Test series, the action will shift to Lahore for the shorter format of the game i.e. T20I.

The top-level cricket has been resumed in Pakistan and two Test playing nations have toured Pakistan i.e. Sri Lanka and Bangladesh in 2019 and 2020 respectively. South Africa has named a 21 men strong squad. Kagiso Rabada and Dwaine Pretorius are returning in the South Africa for strengthening the bowling attack. The spin bowling department has got a major boost with the including of Tabraiz Shamsi and George Linde. Victor Mpitsang, the Convenor of Selectors said that they are confident in the selection that has been made for the Pakistan tour.

Here is the Proteas Test team touring Pakistan

  • Quinton de Kock (captain)
  • Temba Bavuma
  • Aiden Markram
  • Faf du Plessis
  • Dean Elgar
  • Kagiso Rabada
  • Dwaine Pretorius
  • Keshav Maharaj
  • Lungi Ngidi
  • Rassie van der Dussen
  • Anrich Nortje
  • Wiaan Mulder
  • Lutho Sipamla
  • Beuran Hendricks
  • Kyle Verreynne
  • Sarel Erwee
  • Keegan Petersen
  • Tabraiz Shamsi
  • George Linde
  • Daryn Dupavillon
  • Ottniel Baartman.

The announced South African squad will depart for Pakistan on 15th January. After reaching Karachi they will enter in Quarantine before commencing the training and intra-squad practice matches.

Your Comments

%d bloggers like this: