Pakistan Confirm Tour to South Africa for T20Is and ODIs in April 2021

Pakistan confirm Tour to South Africa in April 2021

Pakistan has confirmed that they will travel to South Africa for 3 ODIs and 4 T20Is in April. The tour will start with the ODIs which will be part of the ICC Super League (A pathway to qualify for the 2023 World Cup)

Pakistan Cricket Team will depart for South Africa on 26th March and will play three Super League matches on 2nd, 4th and 7th April. First and third ODIs will be played in Centurion and the second ODI will be played at the Wanderers in Johannesburg. Pakistan has already beaten Zimbabwe 2-1 in a 3-match series in November last year which was part of ICC Super League. On the other hand it will the first time South Africa will play their first game of the Super League.

Also Read: England Has Announced T20I Squad For Series Against India.

The tour was originally scheduled for October 2020 but was postponed due to COVID-19 pandemic. Earlier it was a three match T20I series but now an extra T20I has been included. T20I series will start on 10th April. The first two games of the series will be played in Johannesburg on 10th and 12th April and Centurion will host the last two games scheduled to be played on 14th and 16th April.

Also Read: Jofra Archer Ruled Out Of Second India Test After Injury.

The Director of Cricket South Africa, Graeme Smith said that they are delighted that Pakistan has agreed to play an extra T20I in a short span of time. This will give us some much-required international content. Interestingly the series coincides with the 2021 edition of Indian Premiere League. Last year 10 South African including the skipper Quinton de Kock participated in the league. Now it remains to be seen how the IPL-bound players will manage all this as in the COVID-19 era, quarantine time is a major factor in travelling and participating in different sporting event.

Here is the schedule of Pakistan tour to South Africa 2021

Three Match ODI series (ICC Super League)

  • 2nd April – 1st ODI at SuperSport Park, Centurion
  • 4th April – 2nd ODI at Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg
  • 7th April – 3rd ODI at SuperSport Park, Centurion

T20I series

  • 10th April – 1st T20I at Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg
  • 12th April – 2nd T20I at Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg
  • 14th April – 3rd T20I at SuperSport Park, Centurion
  • 16th April – 4th T20I at SuperSport Park, Centurion

What are your thoughts about this story? Share your thoughts in the comments section below.

Your Comments

%d bloggers like this: