Mohammad Hafeez excluded from Pakistan T20 squad to play South Africa

Muhammad Hafeez excluded from T20I squad for South Africa series
Photo Credit: Twitter

Veteran batsman Muhammad Hafeez has been dropped from the Twenty20 squad for the series against South Africa because he will be unable to meet the PCB’s deadline for the players to enter into the bio-secure bubble. PCB has said that all the players need to be in the bio-secure bubble by 3rd February ahead of the three-match series against South Africa which will start from 11th February.

Chief Selector Muhammad Wasim said that in the COVID-19 times each player has to join the bio-secure bubble on 3rd February and if the player can not do so than it means he is not available. If Hafeez was available than there was no question on his performance but unfortunately he is not available.

Muhammad Hafeez has played 99 T20Is and has scored 2,323 runs at a strike rate of 121.30. the 40 years old has made 14 half centuries. Hafeez was the leading T20 cricketer in 2020. he scored 415 runs in 10 matches at an average of 83 and with a strike rate of 152.57. Selectors have also dropped opening batsman Fakhar Zaman and experienced pacer Wahab Riaz due to the poor performance. Shadab Khan is unavailable due to a leg injury. Imad Wasim was also unavailable because of the family commitment.


Asif Ali has been recalled in the T20I squad who is currently playing the T10 League in UAE but he will join the national team by 3rd February deadline. Hasan Ali and Aamir Yamin have also been recalled to the T20I squad that also include some newbies like Danish Aziz, Zafar Gohar, Amad Butt and Zahid Mehmood.

The players which are taking part in the 2nd Test against South Africa will joint he bio-secure bubble in Lahore at the end of the 2nd Test which starts in Rawalpindi on 4th February. Proteas squad will arrive in Pakistan on 3rd February and all the three T20Is will be played in Lahore on 11th, 13th and 14th February.

Pakistan’s T20I Squad for series against South Africa

Babar Azam (captain), Haider Ali, Khushdil Shah, Hussain Talat, Danish Aziz, Asif Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Zafar Gohar, Faheem Ashraf, Aamer Yamin, Amad Butt, Mohammad Rizwan, Safaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain, Hasan Ali, Usman Qadir, Zahid Mehmood.

What are your thoughts about this story? Share your thoughts in the comments section below.

Your Comments

%d bloggers like this: