IPL 2022 – 10 teams divided in two groups, Mumbai and Pune to host 70 league matches

IPL 2022
Photo Credit: Twitter

BCCI issued a media release related to IPL 2022 on Friday, as per which, a total of 70 matches will be played across four different venues in Mumbai and Pune and the venue for the playoff matches will be decided later. The 15th edition IPL will be played in the bio-secure environment at a single hub to avoid air travel which is the main cause for the spread of COVID-19 infection.

IPL 2022 will kick start on 26th March 2022 and the final will be played on 29th May 2022. Three stadiums in Mumbai Wankhede Stadium, Brabourne Stadium and DY Patil Stadium will host 20 matches, 15 matches and 20 matches respectively while on the other hand Pune’s MCA International Stadium will host 15 games of the prestigious T20 league.

All the teams will play 4 matches each at Wankhede Stadium and DY Patil Stadium and 3 matches each at Brabourne Stadium and MCA International Stadium, Pune. All the 10 teams will play a total of 14 league matches (7 home matches and 7 away matches) and after that 4 playoff matches will be played; each team will have to play 5 teams twice and remaining 4 teams only once. Two groups have been created based on the number of IPL Championships won followed by number of final matches played by the respective teams.

Group A include Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals and Lucknow Super Giants. Group B includes Chennai Super Kings, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royals Challengers Bangalore, Punjab Kings and Gujrat Titans. Each team will play twice with the teams in their group and with the team in the same row in the second group. All the teams will only once with all the teams from other group apart from the one in the same line.

Your Comments

%d bloggers like this: