IPL 2020 – SRH vs DC – Rashid Khan and Williamson Helped SRH Register their First Win.

Rashid Khan and Williamson guides SRH to victory
Photo Credit: Twitter/@SunRisers

Sunrisers Hyderabad has beaten Delhi Capitals and has got their first points in IPL 2020. Thanks to some stellar performance from their big guns i.e. Jonny Bairstow, Kane Williamson and Rashid Khan. DC won the toss and put SRH into bat. Opener Jonny Bairstow and David Warner started the inning. Bairstow scored 53 of 48 balls and Warner scored 45 runs of 33 balls. Kane Williamson who was not available in first two games was playing his first inning of IPL 2020 and as expected he performed greatly as he scored 41 runs of 26 balls. Sunrisers at the end posted a competitive total of 162/4.

Rashid Khan SRH
Photo Credit: Twitter/@SunRisers

Defending this total, SRH’s bowlers were up to the mark especially their prime leggie Rashid Khan who got three wickets. Bhuvneshwar Kumar got 2 wickets and other two bowlers i.e Khaleel Ahmed and Natranjan also got a wicket each. They restricted Delhi to 147 for 7 in 20 overs. Rashid Khan came and got DC captain Iyer on the second ball he bowls and then again got the prime wicket of Dhawan in 12th over with the wrong’un. DC was under pressure as they were 63 for 3 but then Rishabh Pant hit two sixes in the 13th over and Hetmayer also hit two successive sixes in 15th over in order to ease the pressure. But then SRH’s strike bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar dismissed Hetmayer and then Rashid hit the last nail in the coffin by removing Rishabh Pant. DC required 59 runs of 30 balls and they had Stoinis on the crease but he was dismissed by an impressive yorker from Natranjan.

Rishabh Pant - DC
Photo Credit: Twitter/@DelhiCapitals

Earlier David Warner and Jonny Bairstow started Hyderabad’s inning and put up 77 runs opening partnership. They were restricted to on 38 runs in the powerplay, thanks to the pace trio of SRH consisting of Ishant Sharma, Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje. Amit Mishra got the wicket of Warner in the 10th over when he was trying to reverse sweep the ball but ended up in Pant’s glove. He also removed Manish Pandey in the 12th over. Kane Williamson who was playing his first game and scored 41 runs of only 26 balls. Rashid Khan with his impressive bowling performance earned the Man of the Match award. Delhi will next play Kolkata on 3rd October at Sharjah while SRH will play against CSK on 2nd October at Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai.

Your Comments

%d bloggers like this: