IPL 2020 – Mumbai Indians Team Preview

Mumbai Indians Logo

Here is a look at the Mumbai Indians team before the start of the IPL 2020 in UAE. Mumbai Indians is without a doubt the most successful team in the IPL history under the leadership of Rohit Sharma.

Batting Power-House

MUmbai Indians Batting Line Up
Photo Credit: IPL

Mumbai Indians is the most successful team in the history of IPL as they have won the title for 4 times i.e. in 2013, 2015, 2017 and 2019. The defending champion has got a power-packed batting line-up composed of some of the most destructive and renowned names in the cricketing world.  Led by Rohit Sharma who is considered as one of the best white-ball cricketers in the modern era. He along with Quinton de Kock makes a solid and lethal opening pair plus they have also inducted Chris Lynn of Australia which will strengthen the batting more. The middle order is loaded with the power-packed players like SuryaKumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard and Krunal Pandya. All four of them can hit the ball a long way and Mumbai can utilize them in crucial stages of the upcoming games.

Shacky Bowling Unit

Mumbai Indians Bowling Unit

Though Mumbai has a good batting unit but their bowling department is a bit shacky this time and that is a worrying sign for Mahela Jayawardene and Shane Bond. They will have a tough time in making the right bowling combination, especially the spin department. There is no Malinga delivering those toe-crushing yorkers this time as he has decided to pull out citing the personal reasons. Bumrah who is back in action after a long injury layoff will be under pressure. He was the leading wicket taker for Mumbai Indians last season with 19 wickets to his name. they have also included Trent Boult he has been the pillar of Kiwi team for quite some time now.

Rohit Sharma the Leader

Rohit Sharma Mumbai Indians Captain
Photo Credit: Twitter

Rohit Sharma AKA the Hitman is regraded as one of the finest white-ball cricketers of the modern era. He is a treat to watch when is in full flow. His ability to pick the length of the bowler early and his destructive stroke play makes him the nightmare for each opposition in IPL. Since he took over the captaincy of Mumbai from Ricky Ponting in 2013, he has evolved as a great leader as well as a player. His timely decisions, quick thinking and smart tactics on the ground has made the experts think that he should be given Indian National team captaincy for the limited overs cricket.

Players to Watch

Jasprit Bumrah

Jasprit Bumrah Mumbai Indians
Photo Credit: Twitter/Mumbai Indians

Probably the best Indian fast bowler, Bumrah is making his way back to the competitive cricket after suffering from injury. He was unable to make an impact in competitive cricket after suffering from lower back stress fracture. Now is the time find his rhythm as he has got the extra burden on his shoulders in Malinga’s absence.

Hardik Pandya

Hardik Pandya Mumbai Indians
Photo Credit: Twitter/Mumbai Indians

Mumbai’s superstar, Pandya is also coming back after a long injury layoff. He has got everything that a team requires, a hard-hitting beast and a fast bowler, he will definitely be the one that every team will desire to have in their ranks. He is considered as one of the best finishers in T20 format and he has got a strike rate near to 155.

Mumbai Indians Squad

Mumbai Indians Squad
Photo Credit: Twitter/Mumbai Indians
  • Rohit Sharma (Captain)
  • Anmolpreet Singh
  • Anukul Roy
  • Aditya Tare
  • Chris Lynn
  • DHawal Kulkarni
  • Digvijay Deshmukh
  • Hardik Pandya
  • Ishan Kishan (wk)
  • James Pattison
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Jayant Yadav
  • Kieron Pollard
  • Krunal Pandya
  • Mitchell McClenaghan
  • Mohsin Khan
  • Nathan Coulter-Nile
  • Prince Balwant Rai
  • Quinton De Kock (wk)
  • Rahul Chahar
  • Saurabh Tiwary
  • Sherfane Rutherford
  • Suryakumar Yadav
  • Trent Boult

Mumbai Indian IPL Past Record

  • 2008 – 5th
  • 2009 – 7th
  • 2010 – Runners-up
  • 2011 – Playoffs (3rd)
  • 2012 – Playoffs (4th)
  • 2013 – Winner
  • 2014 – Playoffs (4th)
  • 2015 – Winner
  • 2016 – 5th
  • 2017 – Winner
  • 2018 – 5th
  • 2019 – Winner

Your Comments

%d bloggers like this: